Of Scruffy Beards and Male Insecurities

This is an issue that has been bothering me for a long time now. As you may know by this time, if you’re a regular reader, this is a rant. So, for those of you who are hurt by the title itself, I suggest you leave right away because things are going to get a lot worse from right about now.

I don’t know if it is that I attract the weird people or if I’m the insane one, but I seem to come across plenty with wrong ideas or flawed principles. One such that I refuse to agree with is the statement that ‘You need a beard to call yourself a man’.

Just one word to sum up how I feel about that. Ridiculous. (Actually, that’s not the word but I don’t want to abuse in public. So, just insert an appropriate profanity!)

Now let me make one thing clear to you.  Physical appearance is a choice. It’s based on perception. This rant is not about whether it is right or not to have  a beard. It’s about not passing around baseless remarks that affect the way other people would like to look. I know this guy who looks really adorable when he’s clean shaven (I have his number and you don’t, ha!) and all the girls love him, but he refuses to shave his beard off because he’s afraid of what the ‘other guys’ would say. I asked him whether he liked it with all the facial hair. He shook his head like he had no option and that was when I knew I just had to write this.

Being a man is not about having facial hair or puffed-up muscles. It’s about sticking to your principles and knowing what you’re worth instead of being bogged down by senseless rules. It’s about being human (No, not that T-shirt Quote) and believing in what’s wrong as well as sticking up for what’s right. It’s about supporting those around you and spreading awareness about life.

So, don’t tell me that by some godforsaken definition, a ‘man’ is defined by his physical appearance! What dictionary are you guys even looking at?
How much of a ‘man’ are you when you rape a woman just because she’s alone and defenseless? What kind of a ‘man’ do you think you are when you beat up your wife? How much of a ‘man’ do you quantify as when you lie, cheat, steal? What makes you a ‘man’ when you stand by watching a crime happen and do absolutely nothing to help?

I am sorry but there is no way I will nod and agree if you say that your laziness in shaving off your facial hair or your just sitting there and letting your beard grow makes you think that you’re more of a man than the rest are.

You really want to be a man? Then stop being such a jerk!
Leave a Reply

